Lily’s Veggie Burgers with Avo-Mayo Spread

January 11, 2009 at 4:49 pm 1 comment

My friends tease me a lot about my style of cooking, since it’s extremely experimental and mostly involves taking a quick mental inventory of what I have in stock and throwing things together. When I recruit guinea pigs, they call it Lily’s Test Kitchen and humor me by entertaining my latest idea.

One of my 2009 health goals is to try new foods and cook things I’d never tried cooking before. I don’t eat a lot of beans except green ones or BBQ beans, so I put these (new varieties) at the top of my list. I need to add some protein into my diet in a healthy and fun way, so I bought a bag of black beans and a bag of chickpeas knowing that if all else failed, I could throw together a black bean and corn salsa or some hummus. My real objective was veggie burgers, and they turned out superbly so that’s the recipe I’m sharing here!

Last night, my friend Beth volunteered to be my sous chef in exchange for a home-cooked meal, so we set out to making the burgers. Here are the tools we had on hand and then a quick run-down of the ingredients and the process:

Tools:

Food processor
Crockpot (for the chickpeas; this isn’t necessary, but it sure did make cooking the chickpeas simple!)
Large pot
Skillet

Lily’s Black Bean and Chickpea Veggie Burger with Avocado-Mayo Spread

Ingredients

(quantities are estimated as I don’t measure, but instead throw things together until it looks/feels right):

Burger Patties
Chickpeas
Black Beans
Red Bell Pepper
Green Bell Pepper
Onion
1 Egg White and Bread Crumbs for binding the patties
Seasonings: Lowry’s Season Salt, Pepper, Basil, Onion Powder

Avo-Mayo Spread
1/2 Ripe Avocado
Enough low-fat Mayo to make the mushed-up/food processed avocado spreadable (couple of tbsps?)
Salt/Pepper

Tomatoes (sliced) and Mixed Greens for garnish on Marble Rye Bread

Cooking the beans:

I did the chickpeas in my large crockpot following Kate’s instructions here:

Rinse 1# of dried chick peas well and pick over for quality. Place in crockpot and cover with water to a depth of 3 inches if possible. These little guys swell big time. Cook on high until tender, adding more water if necessary. Mine took nearly 4 hours.

Lily’s Notes: I put mine on low (the 10-hour setting) and left them for just over 6 hours. They were really tender when I took ‘em out and those suckers popped right out of their skins.

For the black beans I just followed the instructions on the bag, opting for the Quick Rinse instead of the overnight soak and then simmering them on the stovetop for about an hour and a half.

With the food processor, chop up both the red pepper and the green pepper, add in the onions (I think we probably added about 1/4 cup or so. I don’t like an overwhelming onion flavor, but I love the kick it gave it). Because my food processor is teeny tiny, we did everything one at a time and then mixed it all together in a big bowl before making the patties.

Add the chickpeas (skins removed) to the food processor and blend until pretty fine, then add those to the peppers. This was probably close to the same amount of processed peppers we used and give the patties their firmer texture. We added the black beans whole (instead of chopping or mashing them) and I think this makes the final presentation really pretty. Throw in the egg white and some bread crumbs to help bind it all together, then add the seasonings.

I used my hands to grab and mold little balls of the veggie mix and then pressed them between my palms to make the patties. The ones we wanted on our sandwich, I did on the stovetop in a skillet with a little bit of Extra Virgin Olive Oil. I did the rest on a cookie sheet in the over at 375* for 10 minutes on each side. These were eventually frozen for later use.

The Avo-Mayo was done in my little food processor as well and spread on toasted marble rye bread. The patties were put on and topped with sliced tomatoes and mixed greens.

So tasty! And really healthy and nutrient-rich. Let me know if anyone tries this and how you might tweak it!

*I promise to take pictures next time!*

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: .

I Get by With a Little Help From My Friends Why am I here?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. E.P.  |  January 13, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    That sounds awesome! I’m excited that you made these, and I definitely want to try them, too.

    It makes me happy they call your kitchen ‘Lily’s Test Kitchen,’ because I’m sure some of my friends think the same about mine. Because I don’t really measure. Sometimes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 3,183 hits

Categories

Archives

SparkPeople

SparkPeople.com


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

